Coronavirus - Current situation

On this website you will find the latest information from the University of Bern on how to deal with the corona epidemic.

Currently, the following regulations apply:

  • Working from home remains mandatory everywhere where it is possible and can be implemented with a reasonable amount of effort.
  • Masks are compulsory on the entire campus of the University of Bern. This applies to the entire perimeter of the institutions, i.e. not only inside the buildings but also their exterior spaces.
  • In-person courses are possible again with restrictions. A maximum of 50 people may be present, with a capacity limit of one third of the available seats (Further information, in German). This also applies to continuing education courses.
  • Lecturers are still allowed to remain in online-only mode, and there is no on-site obligation for students for the courses that now take place in-person. Teaching must therefore either take place in hybrid mode, i.e.
  • In-person courses in continuing education are possible, provided that the measures specified in the pootection concept (in German) (PDF, 183KB) can be adhered to. However, some courses may be held online or modules or parts of modules may be postponed.  
  • Most of the libraries are open. You can find more information here.
  • As of April 19, 2021, training sessions (without physical contact) in groups of 15 people will again be possible indoors (including the ZSSw fitness room) at Unisport. All information about Unisport operations can be found here (in German).
  • Events with an external audience are still not possible.

The university's crisis management team recommends:

  • Vaccination against Sars-CoV-2: be.vacme.ch
  • Installing the official Swiss-COVID app
  • Avoiding large crowds of people
  • Avoiding public transport during rush hour.

All other measures, especially the social distancing rules , general mask obligation and hygiene recommendations, remain in place and apply until further notice. The website is regularly being updated. In the event of contradictory statements, the latest information applies.

The university is in minimal presence mode.

The number of coronavirus infections is still high. The top priority therefore remains the protection of everyone's health.

The following regulations and recommendations basically apply:

  • Working from home remains mandatory everywhere where it is possible and can be implemented with a reasonable amount of effort.
  • If symptoms of illness occur, stay at home and avoid contact with other people (self-isolation).
  • Masks are compulsory on the entire campus of the University of Bern. This applies to the entire perimeter of the institutions, i.e. not only inside the buildings but also their exterior spaces (Information on masks, in German, PDF, 846KB). Individuals who cannot wear masks for medical reasons can apply for an official exemption from wearing a mask around the University of Bern premises (Procedures for masks exeptions, in German (PDF, 120KB).
  • In-person courses are possible again with restrictions. A maxiumum of 50 people may be present, with a capacity limit of one third of the available seats. This also applies to further-education courses.
  • Lecturers are still allowed to remain in online-only mode, and there is no on-site obligation for students for the courses that now take place in-person. Teaching must therefore either take place in hybrid mode, i.e. in-person and online, or online only.
  • Meetings are to be conducted virtually.
  • In order to be able to trace personal contacts closer than 1.5 meters for longer than 15 minutes in case of an infection with Sars-CoV-2, every person is obliged to keep a personal and daily updated logbook (digitally or by using this form). The logbook must be kept for 4 weeks.
  • It is recommended to install the official Swiss Covid app. If it can be verified that all the people present have installed and activated the app, there is no need for a logbook entry.
  • It is recommended to avoid large crowds of people and avoid public transport during rush hour.

Procedure for those who show symptoms of disease

If symptoms of illness occur, stay at home and avoid contact with other people (self-isolation).

Inform your doctor. Your doctor will decide whether a test is appropriate.

If you are tested and the result is positive, you must continue to isolate yourself. The competent cantonal authority will contact you and discuss all further steps. The cantonal authority will also inform you when the isolation can end.

If the test result is negative, you can leave isolation 24 hours after the last symptoms of the disease have subsided.

Points of contact

The university’s in-house physician, Benny Wohlfarth, is the first point of contact for lecturers and employees with medical questions related to Covid-19 – in particular for questions regarding the handling of people who have tested positive. He can be contacted during the mornings, Monday to Friday, by telephone at +41 31 684 42 98 or +41 75 500 08 98 and by e-mail at betriebsarzt@unibe.ch.

Public Events and Infrastructure

The university buildings are basically open.

Events with an external audience are still not possible.

Most of the libraries are open. You can find more information here.

As of April 19, 2021, training sessions (without physical contact) in groups of 15 people will again be possible indoors (including the ZSSw fitness room) at Unisport. All information about Unisport operations can be found here (in German).

Business and private trips abroad

Anyone entering Switzerland from a country or area with a high risk of infection must go into quarantine for ten days. You can find further information on this here.

Responsibilities and directives

The crisis management unit and the University Executive Board are responsible for the drafting and enactment of university directives.

Organizational units (institutes, departments, divisions) are responsible for the implementation and monitoring of the University's directives. The responsibility lies directly with the managers of the respective organisational units.

In every situation, a substitute regulation must be established.

The following directives generally describe the minimum standards in principle. In case of doubt, whichever option that minimizes the risk of spreading the disease, based on local conditions, should be chosen.

Covid 19- Regulation 2 with validity for AS2020 and FS2021 (in German) (PDF, 45KB) Protect yourself and others - hygiene rules (FOPH) (PDF, 4.2 MB) Personal daily logbook (form) (WORD, 45KB) Protective measures for those particularly at risk (in German) (PDF, 277KB) Protection Concept Continuing Education (in German) (PDF, 183KB)

Coronavirus - Aktuelle Situation

Auf dieser Website finden Sie die aktuellen Informationen der Universität Bern zum Umgang mit der Corona-Pandemie.

Aktuell gelten folgenden Regelungen:

  • Homeoffice ist weiterhin überall Pflicht, wo es möglich und mit verhältnismässigem Aufwand umsetzbar ist.
  • Es gilt Maskenpflicht auf dem ganzen Gelände der Universität Bern. Dies betrifft den ganzen Perimeter der Institution, also neben den Gebäuden auch deren Aussenräume.
  • Präsenzveranstaltungen sind mit Einschränkungen wieder möglich. Es dürfen maximal 50 Personen anwesend sein, dabei gilt eine Kapazitätsbegrenzung auf einen Drittel der verfügbaren Plätze (weitere Informationen).
  • Präsenzveranstaltungen in der Weiterbildung sind möglich, sofern die im Schutzkonzept (PDF, 183KB) vorgegebenen Massnahmen eingehalten werden können. Jedoch kann es zu digitalen Durchführungen und Verschiebungen einzelner Module oder Teile davon kommen.
  • Dozierende dürfen weiterhin im nur-Online-Modus bleiben, für die Studierenden besteht keine Vor-Ort-Pflicht bei den Veranstaltungen, die neu in Präsenz durchgeführt werden. Der Unterricht muss deshalb entweder im Hybridmodus erfolgen, d.h. in Präsenz und Online, oder nur Online stattfinden.
  • Die meisten Teilbibliotheken der Universitätsbibliothek sind wieder geöffnet. Weitere Informationen finden Sie hier.
  • Ab dem 19. April 2021 sind im Unisport Trainings (ohne Körperkontakt) in Gruppen von 15 Personen auch in Innenräumen (inkl. Fitnessraum ZSSw) wieder möglich. Alle Informationen zum Unisportbetrieb finden Sie hier.
  • Veranstaltungen mit externer Beteiligung sind weiterhin nicht möglich.

Der Krisenstab der Universität empfiehlt:

  • Die Impfung gegen Sars-CoV-2:  be.vacme.ch
  • Das Installieren der offiziellen Swiss-Covid-App.
  • Das Vermeiden von grösseren Menschenansammlungen.
  • Das Vermeiden des öffentlichen Verkehrs zu Stosszeiten.

Alle weiteren Massnahmen, insbesondere die Abstandsregeln, generelle Maskenpflicht und Hygieneempfehlungen, bleiben bestehen und gelten bis auf Weiteres. Die Webseite wird regelmässig überarbeitet. Bei widersprüchlichen Aussagen gelten jeweils die neuesten Angaben.

Die Universität befindet sich im Modus minimaler Präsenz.

Die Infektionen mit dem Coronavirus sind immer noch hoch. Oberste Priorität hat daher nach wie vor der Schutz der Gesundheit aller Personen.

Es gelten grundsätzlich folgende Regelungen und Empfehlungen:

  • Homeoffice ist weiterhin überall Pflicht, wo es möglich und mit verhältnismässigem Aufwand umsetzbar ist.
  • Bei Krankheitssymptomen bleiben Sie zuhause und vermeiden Kontakt mit anderen Personen (Selbstisolation).
  • Es gilt Maskenpflicht auf dem ganzen Gelände der Universität Bern. Dies betrifft den ganzen Perimeter der Institution, also neben den Gebäuden auch deren Aussenräume (Infoblatt Mund-Nasen-Bedeckung, PDF, 846KB). Personen, die aus medizinischen Gründen keine Masken tragen können, können eine offizielle Maskendispensation für den Perimeter der Universität Bern beantragen (Vorgehen Maskendispensation, PDF, 15KB).
  • Präsenzveranstaltungen sind mit Einschränkungen wieder möglich. Es dürfen maximal 50 Personen anwesend sein, dabei gilt eine Kapazitätsbegrenzung auf einen Drittel der verfügbaren Plätze (weitere Informationen). Dies gilt auch für die Weiterbildungsangebote.
  • Dozierende dürfen weiterhin im nur-Online-Modus bleiben, für die Studierenden besteht keine Vor-Ort-Pflicht bei den Veranstaltungen, die neu in Präsenz durchgeführt werden. Der Unterricht muss deshalb entweder im Hybridmodus erfolgen, d.h. in Präsenz und Online, oder nur Online stattfinden.
  • Besprechungen werden virtuell durchgeführt.
  • Um Personenkontakte von weniger als 1.5 Meter und länger als 15 Minuten im Fall einer Infektion mit SARS-CoV-2 nachvollziehen zu können, ist jede Person verpflichtet, ein persönliches und täglich nachgeführtes Logbuch (digital oder per Formular) zu führen. Das Logbuch ist 4 Wochen aufzubewahren.
  • Es wird empfohlen, die Swiss Covid App zu installieren. Wenn sichergestellt ist, dass alle anwesenden Personen die App installiert und aktiviert haben, kann auf einen Eintrag im Logbuch verzichtet werden.
  • Es wird empfohlen, grössere Menschenansammlungen generell und den öffentlichen Verkehr zu Stosszeiten zu vermeiden.

Vorgehen im Falle von Krankheitssymptomen

Bleiben Sie zuhause und vermeiden Sie Kontakt mit anderen Personen (Selbstisolation).

Informieren Sie Ihren Arzt oder Ihre Ärztin. Diese entscheiden, ob ein Test angebracht ist.

Wenn ein positives Testergebnis vorliegt, müssen Sie sich weiter isolieren. Die zuständige kantonale Behörde wird sich bei Ihnen melden und alle weiteren Schritte mit Ihnen besprechen.

Bei einem negativen Testergebnis können Sie 24 Stunden nach Abklingen der letzten Krankheitssymptome die Isolation wieder verlassen.

Anlaufstellen an der Universität Bern

Erste Ansprechperson für Dozierende und Mitarbeitende für medizinische Fragen im Zusammenhang mit Covid-19 – insbesondere zum Umgang mit positiv getesteten Personen - ist Betriebsarzt Benny Wohlfarth. Er ist von Montag bis Freitag jeweils vormittags über Telefon +41 31 684 42 98 oder +41 75 500 08 98 sowie per Mail über betriebsarzt@unibe.ch erreichbar.

Bei UniBE-spezifischen Fragen steht Ihnen die Fachstelle Risikomanagement als Koordinationsstelle zur Verfügung. E-Mail Fachstelle Risikomanagement

Öffentliche Angebote und Veranstaltungen

Die Gebäude der Universität sind grundsätzlich geöffnet.

Veranstaltungen mit externem Publikum sind weiterhin nicht möglich.

Die meisten Teilbibliotheken der Universitätsbibliothek sind wieder geöffnet. Weitere Informationen

Ab dem 19. April 2021 sind im Unisport Trainings (ohne Körperkontakt) in Gruppen von 15 Personen neu auch in Innenräumen (inkl. Fitnessraum ZSSw) wieder möglich. Alle Informationen zum Unisport.

Dienstliche und private Reisen ins Ausland

Alle Personen, die aus einem Staat oder Gebiet mit hohem Infektionsrisiko in die Schweiz einreisen, müssen während zehn Tagen in Quarantäne. Weitere Informationen insbesondere für Mitarbeitende der Universität finden Sie hier.

Verantwortlichkeiten und Weisungen

Der Krisenstab und die Universitätsleitung sind zuständig für die Ausarbeitung und Verabschiedung der universitären Weisungen.

Organisationeinheiten (Departemente, Institute / Kliniken, Abteilungen) sind für die Umsetzung und Überwachung der universitären Weisungen verantwortlich. Die Verantwortung hierfür liegt direkt bei den Leitungen der betreffenden Organisationseinheiten.

In jedem Fall ist eine Stellvertreterregelung zu treffen.

Die universitären Weisungen beschreiben die minimalen Standards in allgemeingültigen Prinzipien. Im Zweifelsfalle ist aufgrund der jeweiligen örtlichen Begebenheiten diejenige Variante zu wählen, welche das Risiko einer Krankheitsausbreitung minimiert.

Merkblatt zu SARS-CoV-2 Massentestungen (PDF, 196KB) Das Covid-19 Reglement 2 der Universität Bern mit Gültigkeit für das HS2020 und FS2021 (PDF, 45KB) So schützen wir uns - Hygiene Empfehlung vom BAG (PDF, 4.2 MB) Persönliches Logbuch Personenkontakte (per Formular) (WORD, 45KB) Schutzmassnahmen für Personen aus Risikogruppen (PDF, 277KB) Schutzkonzept der Universität Bern unter Covid-19 für die Weiterbildung (Änderung ab 21. April 2021) (PDF, 183KB)